Weekly Round Up — 21/3/21

Chris Hutchings
3 min readMar 21, 2021

This week has been a bit of a whirlwind.

One minute it was Monday morning. A packed week ahead of me, lots of things to get done and the next thing I knew, the drinks trolley was being wheeled into the home office, and it was Friday afternoon.

Despite not knowing where the week went, on the whole it was pretty successful.

Growth

I’ve mentioned before the importance of growth but eOpinion is a little different to most companies. We are B2C (the panel) as well as B2B (the clients).

The growth strategy needs to take this into account because the approach for both is pretty different.

There is a little crossover it’s true (see below), but they each need their own dedicated strategy.

I’ve spent a lot of time this week refining these strategies and trying to work out what gives the biggest bang for the buck, offsetting against the resource I have available, not as much as I’d like.

Been testing a few things over the last few months but I’m going all-in on word of mouth.

It’s my favourite channel and with good execution and a smidge of luck, I know how powerful it can be.

I’ll put out a dedicated post on the approach and results soon.

Newsletter

This is where the growth strategy crossover comes in.

Yes, I know it seems every man and his dog has a newsletter these days, but I have been inspired by david hieatt. This Marketing Meetup video is a decent watch. I also read his book in one sitting.

eOpinion has pretty healthy open and click-through rates on emails but I’m always asking for something, generally completion of a Speedy Poll.

This goes completely against my typical advice around email campaigns, a fundamental pillar of why I started the business in the first place. I’m worried we don’t engage with the panel in any other way.

Next Sunday will see the inaugural issue of the eOpinion Sunday 7. It’ll be a brief but engaging weekly newsletter highlighting seven of the most interesting and entertaining survey related stories that have been published that week.

I had hoped to start this week but I just wasn’t ready. If truth be told, I ran out of time and this spinning plate had to be sacrificed. It may have smashed on the floor this week but I’ll glue it back together ready for next weekend.

If this newsletter pans out how I hope, it’ll not only be a positive for the panel but also interesting enough that potential clients will read and like it.

We’ll see how things progress but keep your eyes peeled next week.

I’ll also share a link in next week’s round-up in the incredibly unlikely event you are not also a signed-up member of the eOpinion tribe! (Click here)

Wins

Thursday was a great day.

We put three Speedy Polls live for a client and despite a nervy and slow start, traffic and responses soon started to pour in.

This was a client I’d really wanted to work with and this was our first taste of working together.

We pulled out all the stops to get the Speedy Polls just right and I think the results achieved will make them pretty happy.

Once we get the results fully analysed and over to them, I’ll update you here with any feedback.

Logged off weekend

Apart from writing this weekly round-up, I made a conscious effort to not do any work this weekend and spend some quality time with the family.

As well as having a lovely weekend, one unexpected outcome has been an influx of ideas.

This was not that surprising to me.

When you are all consumed with something it is often very difficult to see the wood for the trees.

As I have been switched off, my subliminal brain has kicked in and provided several great ideas as well as a solution to an ongoing problem I had.

It may seem counter-intuitive to take a break but sometimes it is exactly what your mind needs.

It’s not just the physical side of us that gets tired!

The End!

I hope this post has been an interesting read, please feel free to ask any questions or provide feedback. You can get in touch here or give me a follow on Twitter / Linkedin.

This post was originally published on chrishutchings.online

--

--

Chris Hutchings

‘Mostly’ documenting the journey/learnings of growing my company. #BuildInPublic. Further details can be found at https://chrishutchings.online